Hickey Fire Service Award

Honors a firefighter or firefighter burn foundation who demonstrates a commitment to improve burn care through all phases of recovery.

The award recipient must follow the late firefighter Joe Hickey's philosophy of placing the well-being of burn survivors above all, as his or her top priority. The award was established by Ron Siarnicki, former Phoenix Society Board President, at the 2009 Phoenix World Burn Congress.


The Joe Hickey Fire Service award honors a firefighter or firefighter burn foundation who provides assistance to burn survivors, demonstrates a commitment to improve burn care through all phases of recovery, and works to carry on the mission of the Society and the local burn community.


Selection Process

The following 11 organizations, representing the fire service community, in partnership with the Phoenix Society, will annually nominate and select a recipient for the Joe Hickey Fire Service Award:

  • D.C. Firefighters Burn Foundation

  • Dearborn (Michigan) Firefighters Burn Drive

  • Firefighters Burn Fund Victoria, British Columbia

  • Firefighters Burn Fund, Inc. (Winnipeg, Manitoba)

  • Firefighters Burn Institute (Sacramento, California)

  • Firefighters Burn Treatment Society Edmonton (Alberta) Chapter

  • Metropolitan (Baltimore) Fire Fighters Burn Center Fund

  • New York Firefighters Burn Center Foundation

  • Portland Firefighters Children's Burn Foundation

  • San Jose (California) Firefighters Burn Foundation

  • Stratford (Connecticut) Professional Firefighters Burn Foundation



Recipient of the Joe Hickey Fire Service Award will be honored during Phoenix World Burn Congress and will be featured on the Phoenix Society's website, social media, and Burn Support Magazine.

Past Hickey Award Recipients

2019 - James (Jimmy) DiGregory
2018 - Providence Firefighters Burn Foundation (Pictured left)
2017 - David (Rico) Petruccelli
2016 - Georgia Firefighters Burn Foundation
2015 - Boston Firefighters Burn Foundation
2014 - Oscar Barrera
2013 - Gerald Dunn
2012 - Martin Johnson
2011 - Lieutenant Thomas Herz
2010 - Clifford Haskell