Harman Award

Honor an individual or family, corporation, foundation, or organization with a proven record of exceptional generosity through direct financial support or volunteer effort.

The Harman Award is named in honor of Janet Harman, a long-term supporter of the Society and worked over 30 years side by side with Alan Breslau and others to assure that the programs and services of the Society are available to those impacted by a burn injury. This award honors Janet's service to Phoenix Society as an example for those who step up to philanthropic leadership roles.


Recognize an individual, family, corporation, organization or foundation, who displays examples of Philanthropic Leadership. Awardees have demonstrated outstanding volunteer and charitable responsibility and generosity that encourages others to take philanthropic leadership roles within the Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors so the Society can further its mission of supporting and empowering anyone impacted by a burn injury.


Selection Process

The Phoenix Society Board of Directors will annually nominate and select a recipient for the Harman Award. The Board of Directors will consider the criteria below in judging candidates: 

  • Evidence of direct gift support, description of impact of gift support

  • Evidence of recruitment, encouragement and motivation given to others to take leadership roles within the Society

  • Evidence of philanthropic support of innovative approaches to solving problems

  • Description of time, effort and financial commitment

  • Description of fundraising goals achieved by his/her effort



Recipient of the Harman Award will be honored during Phoenix World Burn Congress and will be featured on the Phoenix Society's website, social media, and Burn Support Magazine.

Harman Award Past Recipients

2019 - Jim Pauley and Howard T. Tellepsen, Jr (Howard pictured left)
2018 - Sue and Rusty Lugli
2017 - Shriner's Hospital - Corporate
2016 - AlloSource
2015 - Motorola
2014 - Brien Dews
2013 - Integra Foundation
2012 - NC Office of State Fire Marshal
2011 - The Sharon and George Everett Family
2010 - Spiegel Burn Foundation
2009 - Bowers Family
2008 - Kidde Residential and Commercial
2006 - Tom Edge
2005 - Megan Bronson
2004 - Thomas Hessel